Sustainable innovation for AT&S and its customers

The electronics industry is characterised by ongoing rapid development and regular technological breakthroughs. AT&S customers are among the market leaders in their respective sectors. They expect our products and processes to meet the very highest standards and be flexible enough to keep up with the rapid pace of innovation in the industry.

Our own focus on R&D means that we are constantly developing our technology to ensure that customers can always see their ideas take shape as effectively as possible. Since the very founding of AT&S, we have proven that bold investment in R&D pays off. We value sustainable concepts highly and use the latest technologies to reduce the environmental footprint of our own group and our partner companies.

Whether in technology, business processes or implementing environmental improvements, innovation is the driving force behind AT&S, from the initial idea right through to execution. We’re playing a key role in shaping an interconnected future.

Hannes Voraberger, Director of R&D

Faster, greener, better connected

We strive to actively shape the technology of tomorrow and offer our customers creative solutions to their technical problems. After all, that’s the only way of staying one step ahead of the competition and continuing to play a crucial role in the microelectronic revolution, and play a significant role in solving the major challenges facing our society. At the same time, powerful electronic systems are driving the digitisation and decarbonisation of the economy by opening the way for cost-effective, flexible control of a wide variety of systems: wind power plants, for example, can only be used efficiently if they are controlled intelligently. The same goes for the microchips in powerful computers, servers and mobile devices.

AT&S technology powers processors and enables communication between microchips and the other components that a computer needs. 

Our printed circuit boards and substrates not only ensure rapid data processing, but also make a real contribution to keeping energy consumption as low as possible through further miniaturisation. By making the utmost demands of ourselves and our suppliers in terms of environmental responsibility, AT&S always ensures that our technological advances do not come at the expense of the environment. We take a holistic approach to the world of tomorrow. See our comprehensive concept for sustainable production, which is constantly being expanded to include more environmentally friendly materials and energy-saving infrastructure. We are proactive in ensuring that the future not only brings progress, but also remains worth living in.

Sustainable.

As a high-tech company, we harness our expertise to keep our demand for raw materials and energy as low as possible while protecting the environment. We recycle materials, manage our water and energy consumption efficiently and will have decarbonised all of our sites by 2030. For more information about our efforts for a world worth living in, see here:

Find out more

Research as a driving force

In order to maintain our status as leaders in technology and environmental responsibility, we invest 10% of our revenue in research and development of new products and processes. At present, this amounts to around €120 million per year. Our locations in Austria benefit hugely from this investment and have already seen a whole host of state-of-the-art technologies made ready for series production.

AT&S is always seeking creative advances, products and processes

AT&S holds more than 500 patents for the manufacture of high-tech printed circuit boards and IC substrates. These innovations are responsible for a significant part of our revenue, with 21% currently derived from products and technologies that have been brought onto the market in the past three years, following a development phase of several years.

  • More than a fifth of our revenue is based directly on our innovative prowess.

  • One in every 10 euros we make goes directly into research and development.

  • By expanding our Leoben site, we’ve put Austria and Europe as a whole on the map of high-tech production locations for the semiconductor industry for the first time.

  • Our hundreds of patents show that innovation is more than just a buzzword for us.

We support research inside and outside the company

Besides having a world-class in-house research department, AT&S also uses its products to drive progress in a number of different fields. For instance, our substrates are used in supercomputers and have become indispensable in many branches of science. To find out more, see here:

Read more

New R&D Centre: high tech in Austria and the rest of Europe

High tech in Austria and the rest of Europe

Over the next few years, AT&S is set to invest €500 million in a new research centre in Leoben that will employ 700 new people.

A new research and development centre with an attached production facility will be built at the AT&S headquarters in Leoben by 2025. Some €500 million will be invested in the construction of a new building that offers over 10,000m2 for research and production. A total of 700 new jobs will be created at the site.

The new building marks the group’s commitment to ongoing technological development and to the Leoben site itself. It will see the creation of many new products and ideas, which will continue to ensure a bright future for AT&S. The new research department will also attract expertise in the production of IC substrates to Leoben, so that Austria will once again be able to draw upon major talent in high-tech electronics and the semiconductor industry.

This is a lighthouse project for Europe, as it will be the only substrate production facility on the continent. Substrates will become even more prominent when Leoben undergoes expansion.

AT&S Groundbreaking Event Leoben

Pioneering technologies

Find out more

Data, data, data

At the epicentre of the boom in the electronics industry lies the data revolution, which has utterly transformed industry and everyday life over recent years. Increasing amounts of data are being recorded, stored and analysed in order to handle processes as efficiently as possible and enable people to access a wide variety of online services. These developments require data processing systems that consume as little energy as possible and transmit signals efficiently, while still allowing for a high degree of complexity. Whether in the automotive industry, medical technology or semiconductor production, designers and manufacturers of microelectronic systems can meet these requirements with printed circuit boards and substrates from AT&S.

Through ongoing technological development, we ensure that our circuit boards are in the top division for efficiency in terms of energy consumption and signal transmission.

We develop and optimise our products in collaboration with our customers, and now in a fully digital environment.

This not only simplifies improvements, but also the implementation of measures that reduce our environmental footprint. We share this approach with our suppliers and business partners, so together we can help shape priorities for the entire production ecosystem. We strive for the lowest consumption of resources with the highest possible miniaturisation of microelectronic systems to ensure efficient data processing and a high-speed, energy-saving signal line.

We always have the right answer

Creative technical approaches and innovation have always been the foundation for the growth and business success of AT&S. Thanks to our concentrated focus on research and development, we always come up with the right solution for technical challenges, in collaboration with our customers.

AT&S solutions

Institutes & industry partners

We stay at the forefront of technology in our industry by working together with some of the world’s most renowned research institutes, including the Fraunhofer Institute in Germany, Graz University of Technology, the Montanuniversität Leoben, Silicon Austria Labs, the Indian Institute of Technology and Virginia Tech University in the USA. Through a combination of high investment and excellent research partners, we are consolidating our technological leadership and helping to initiate future breakthroughs in the electronics industry.

Join the AT&S team

Careers at AT&S

Promoting research: AT&S projects and collaborations

As an innovative high-tech company, AT&S is an important part of the research landscape in Austria and Europe as a whole. The high quality of our development work means that we can benefit from prestigious funding programmes and cooperate with an array of internationally renowned partners. For more information, see here:

Optimised Operation and Design of Industrial Energy Systems

The overarching aim of DigitalEnergyTwin is to give the industry a methodology and software tool that provides precise support for optimising the operation and design of the industrial energy system.

Applying the digital twin methodology facilitates the development, validation and streamlining of highly detailed energy system modelling for selected energy-related processes and renewable power supply technologies.

Find out more

Interdisciplinary knowledge transfer in electronic-based systems (EBS) to boost players in the value chain

The Inno-EBS (electronic-based systems) qualification programme focuses on teaching state-of-the-art cross-cutting skills in hardware, embedded software and systems.

The programme is aimed at target groups from these areas and professionals in innovation management in general. It deals with the most pertinent EBS-related concerns of companies through four target group-specific tracks.

Find out more

Challenging environments require tolerant smart systems for the IoT and AI

The CHARM project deals with solutions for the application of ECS (electronics, components and systems) technologies in harsh industrial environments. Demonstrator applications from six different industrial sectors (mining, paper mills, the grinding industry, manufacturing of solar cells, digital printing, and the maintenance and decommissioning of nuclear power plants) will be developed as part of the project.

CHARM will open up new business areas and value chains within Europe while also promoting production in Europe by creating new opportunities for digitalisation and contacts with the ECS community, giving rise to digital solutions.

Find out more

Highly EFFICIENT and reliable electric drivetrains based on modular, intelligent and highly integrated wide band-gap power electronics modules

This project focuses on the development of state-of-the-art, integrated and reliable wide band-gap (WBG) technologies, including highly energy-efficient and reliable power electronics for electric vehicles and charging infrastructure.

This will drive smart mobility, which will have a significant impact at all levels throughout the value chain. The HiEFFICIENT partners have set themselves ambitious goals for achieving greater acceptance and harnessing the maximum benefit when using WBG semiconductors.

Find out more

Intelligent Reliability 4.0

The Intelligent Reliability 4.0 (iRel4.0) project seeks the overarching goal of significantly improving the reliability of electronic systems throughout the entire value chain (from development and production through to application, all the way to the end of the component’s life).

Innovative test methods and the extended implementation of sensor-based system control will make it possible to identify risk components and systems, and to implement new models of maintenance.

Electronic components and systems provide solutions for the major challenges that society will face in future, especially in terms of mobility (autonomous driving, e-mobility), power generation (wind energy) and digitalised industry.

Find out more

Research for GaN technologies, devices, packages and applications to address the challenges of the future GaN roadmap

The UltimateGaN project has set itself the aim of significantly improving the carbon footprint of digitalisation. It will address this through efficiency gains using future generations of gallium nitride (GaN) technologies and packages for the electronics industry in Europe.

The GaN devices created as part of UltimateGaN will open the way for a wide range of innovative, energy-efficient applications, with the far-reaching aim of supporting digitalisation and thereby consolidating Europe’s leading position in the field of electronic components and systems.

Find out more

D-band radio 5G network technology

The DRAGON project will overcome the limitations of current E-band wireless backhaul solutions by using the D-band (130–174.8 GHz)1 radio spectrum to achieve a suitable high-capacity radio solution with a small form factor. This is essential for it to be deployed on a massive scale, enabling the speed of optical systems to be carried across to backhaul systems at low cost. DRAGON offers great prospects for new semiconductor, antenna and packaging technologies and the resulting hardware devices to come onto the market and create new economic opportunities.

Find out more

Important Project of Common European Interest on Microelectronics

The Important Project of Common European Intereston Microelectronics (IPCEI Microelectronics) endeavours to strengthen the European microelectronics industry with the aim of promoting microelectronics technology throughout the EU. The IPCEI on Microelectronics was approved by the European Commission in December 2018 and will run until March 2024.

The IPCEI on Microelectronics includes projects with a focus on research and development, along with the first industrial deployment (FID) in the following five areas of technology:

  • energy-efficient chips
  • power semiconductors
  • sensors
  • advanced optical devices and
  • composites.

Some 32 companies and research and development institutions from Austria, France, Germany, Italy and the UK are involved in the IPCEI on Microelectronics partnership.

And it’s not just the members of the consortium that benefit from the IPCEI. Lessons learned as part of the project will benefit organisations across Europe, creating positive spillover effects throughout the entire semiconductor value chain and in other areas.

AT&S – part of the IPCEI on Microelectronics

As part of the IPCEI on Microelectronics, AT&S is leapfrogging existing packaging technologies in carefully selected areas and focusing on implementing next-generation packaging technology in Austria. It achieves this by pooling and combining the three main areas of excellence at AT&S:

  • High-end printed circuit boards
  • Substrate technology
  • Component integration

Our four working packages:

  1. Functional cores for power-efficient substrates and packages
  2. Brand new packaging concepts for high-speed and high-frequency electronics
  3. Miniaturisation for new test and reference boards and other applications
  4. Advanced production and testing capacities

IPCEI spillover tasks handled by AT&S include:

  • Collaboration with industry & researchAs part of the IPCEI, AT&S supports and boosts development activities throughout the value chain across Europe, in conjunction with universities and research and technology organisations (RTOs). These efforts will have a positive impact on transmission for Europe.
  • Supporting training and talent
    AT&S will promote the involvement of universities in the STEM sector

Find out more

Our creative solutions are our strength

Contact

AT&S Kontakt

We are here for you!

 

If you would like to learn more about our exciting products, technologies and solutions, our experts are always happy to help.

E-Mail
+43 3842 200-0

You may also be interested in these topics

Smart Mobility: When cars talk to cars and everyone else in traffic
Blog

It beeps and flashes in the modern car cockpit. Nevertheless, there is usually a lack of information among the participants of road traffic. A new communication standard, C-V2X, aims to improve the relationships between those involved.

A dense network of low earth orbiting satellites
Blog

In this decade, a multiple of the approximately 9,000 satellites that have been launched into space since Sputnik 1 will orbit the Earth. The plans of Space X alone, Elon Musk's space company, the British OneWeb, Telesat, and the Amazon project Kuiper envisage more than 46,000 satellites in the next few years.

Turning EVs from consumers to suppliers of electricity
Blog

Car batteries are often dismissed as the Achilles heel of transforming from combustion to electric cars: too heavy and insufficient storage. However, by integrating them into the supporting car structure, car manufacturers save weight and volume while increasing the range. And network operators see another future for the batteries of nationwide car fleets: as an electricity storage device that can provide peak loads in the electricity grids.

Nachhaltige Innovation für AT&S und Kunden

Die Elektronikindustrie ist ein Geschäft, das von rascher, konstanter Weiterentwicklung und von regelmäßigen technologischen Durchbrüchen geprägt ist. Die Kunden von AT&S gehören in ihren jeweiligen Sparten zu den Marktführern. Sie erwarten von uns, dass unsere Produkte und Verfahren die höchsten Ansprüche erfüllen und dass wir flexibel genug sind, um mit der rasanten Innovation in der Branche mithalten zu können.

Unser eigener Fokus auf Forschung und Entwicklung erlaubt die kontinuierliche Weiterentwicklung unserer Technologie und stellt sicher, dass Kunden ihre Ideen auf einer stets optimalen Basis umsetzen können. AT&S beweist seit der Gründung des Unternehmens, dass es sich lohnt, mutige Investitionen in Forschung und Entwicklung zu tätigen. Dabei legen wir immer auch Wert auf nachhaltige Konzepte und nutzen neuste Technologien, um die ökologischen Fußabdrücke des eigenen Konzerns und der Partnerunternehmen zu reduzieren.

Innovation ist der Motor, der AT&S antreibt. Von der Idee zur Implementierung, egal ob in der Technologie, den Geschäftsprozessen oder beim Umsetzen ökologischer Verbesserung. So gestalten wir die vernetzte Zukunft entscheidend mit

Hannes Voraberger, Director R&D

Schneller, grüner, vernetzter

Wir haben den Anspruch an uns, die technologische Zukunft aktiv mitzugestalten und unseren Kunden kreative Lösungen für ihre technischen Probleme anzubieten. Nur so können wir der Konkurrenz einen Schritt voraus bleiben und auch in Zukunft eine wichtige Rolle in der mikroelektronischen Revolution spielen, die wesentlich zur Lösung der großen Herausforderungen für unsere Gesellschaft beiträgt. Leistungsfähige elektronische Systeme treiben die Digitalisierung und Dekarbonisierung der Wirtschaft parallel voran, indem sie eine sparsame und flexible Steuerung verschiedenster Systemen erlauben: Windkraftwerke zum Beispiel können nur effizient genutzt werden, wenn sie intelligent gesteuert werden. Dasselbe gilt auch für die Mikrochips in leistungsfähigen Computern, Servern und mobilen Geräten.

Technologie von AT&S versorgt Prozessoren mit Strom und ermöglicht die Kommunikation zwischen Mikrochip und den anderen Komponenten, die ein Rechner braucht. 

Unsere Leiterplatten und Substrate sorgen nicht nur für schnelle Datenverarbeitung, sondern tragen durch weitere Miniaturisierung auch entscheidend dazu bei, den Energieverbrauch so gering wie möglich zu halten.

Durch höchste ökologische Ansprüche an uns selbst und unsere Zulieferer gewährleisten wir bei AT&S immer, dass unsere technologischen Fortschritte nicht zulasten der Umwelt gehen. Uns interessiert eine ganzheitliche Perspektive auf die Welt von morgen. Das setzen wir unter anderem in unserem umfassenden Konzept für nachhaltige Produktion um, das ständig durch umweltverträglichere Materialien und energiesparende Infrastruktur erweitert wird. Wir tragen aktiv dazu bei, dass die Zukunft nicht nur Fortschritt bringt, sondern auch lebenswert bleibt.

Nachhaltig.

Als Hightechunternehmen nutzen wir unsere Expertise, um unseren Bedarf nach Rohstoffen und Energie möglichst gering zu halten und gleichzeitig die Umwelt zu schonen. Wir recyceln Materialien, steuern unseren Wasser- und Energieverbrauch effizient und werden bis 2030 alle unsere Standorte dekarbonisiert haben. Nähere Informationen zu unseren Bemühungen für eine lebenswerte Welt gibt es hier:

Mehr erfahren

Forschung als Triebfeder

Um unsere technologische und ökologische Führungsrolle zu behaupten, investieren wir zehn Prozent unseres Umsatzes in Forschung und Entwicklung für neue Produkte und Prozesse. Das entspricht aktuell Ausgaben von etwa 120 Millionen Euro pro Jahr, von denen besonders unsere Standorte in Österreich profitieren, wo schon viele hochmoderne Technologien zur Serienreife gebracht wurden.

AT&S sucht immer nach kreativen Wegen, Produkte und Prozesse zu verbessern

AT&S hält mehr als 500 Patente zur Herstellung von Hightech-Leiterplatten und IC-Substraten. Diese Innovationen sind für einen wesentlichen Teil unseres Umsatzes verantwortlich: Aktuell werden 21 Prozent mit Produkten und Technologien erzielt, die in den vergangenen drei Jahren nach jeweils mehrjähriger Entwicklungsphase neu auf den Markt gebracht wurden.

  • Mehr als ein Fünftel unseres Umsatzes fußt direkt auf unserer Innovationskraft.

  • Jeder zehnte Euro, den wir umsetzen, fließt in die Forschung und Entwicklung.

  • Mit dem Ausbau unseres Standorts in Leoben scheinen Österreich und Europa erstmals auf der Landkarte der Hightech-Produktionsstandorte für die Halbleiterindustrie auf.

  • Hunderte Patente zeigen, dass Innovation für uns nicht nur ein Schlagwort ist.

Wir unterstützen Forschung innerhalb und außerhalb des Unternehmens

Neben einer erstklassigen Forschungsabteilung im Haus nutzt AT&S auch seine Produkte, um den Fortschritt in verschiedenen Bereichen voranzutreiben. Unsere Substrate werden zum Beispiel in Supercomputern genutzt, die in vielen Wissenschaften nicht mehr zu ersetzen sind. Mehr Info dazu gibt es hier:

Weiterlesen

Neues R&D-Center: Hightech in Österreich und Europa

Hightech in Österreich und Europa

In Leoben investiert AT&S in den kommenden Jahren 500 Millionen Euro in ein neues Forschungszentrum, für das 700 neue Beschäftigte angestellt werden.

Bis 2025 entsteht am AT&S-Hauptsitz in Leoben ein neues Forschungs- und Entwicklungszentrum mit angeschlossener Produktion. Es werden 500 Millionen Euro investiert, um ein neues Gebäude mit mehr als 10.000 Quadratmetern Fläche für Forschung und Produktion zu errichten. Insgesamt entstehen so auch 700 neue Arbeitsplätze am Standort.

Der Neubau ist ein Bekenntnis des Konzerns zur kontinuierlichen technologischen Weiterentwicklung und auch zum Standort Leoben. Hier werden viele neue Produkte und Ideen entstehen, die AT&S weiterhin eine erfolgreiche Zukunft sichern. Mit der neuen Forschungsabteilung wird auch die Kompetenz der Produktion von IC-Substraten nach Leoben kommen, wodurch Österreich erstmals wieder über relevante Kapazitäten in den Bereichen Hightech-Elektronik und Halbleiterindustrie verfügt.

Für Europa ist das ein Leuchtturmprojekt, als einzige Substratproduktion auf dem alten Kontinent. Substrate werden mit dem Ausbau in Leoben nochmals an Bedeutung gewinnen.

AT&S Groundbreaking Event Leoben

Richtungsweisende Technologien

Mehr erfahren

Daten, Daten, Daten

Im Zentrum des Booms der Elektronikindustrie steht die Datenrevolution, die seit einigen Jahren Industrie und Alltag umkrempelt. Immer größere Datenmengen werden erfasst, gespeichert und analysiert, um Prozesse möglichst effizient abwickeln zu können und den Menschen den Zugriff auf verschiedenste Online-Services zu ermöglichen. Diese Entwicklungen erfordern Datenverarbeitungssysteme, die möglichst wenig Energie verbrauchen, Signale effizient transportieren und trotzdem einen hohen Komplexitätsgrad erlauben. Mit Leiterplatten und Substraten von AT&S können Designer:innen und Hersteller von mikroelektronischen Systemen diesen Ansprüchen gerecht werden, egal ob in der Autoindustrie, der Medizintechnik oder der Halbleiterfertigung.

Durch kontinuierliche technologische Weiterentwicklung stellen wir sicher, dass unsere Leiterplatten in ihrer Effizienz was den Energieverbrauch und die Signalweiterleitung angeht in der ersten Liga spielen.

In Zusammenarbeit mit unseren Kunden werden Produkte entwickelt und optimiert, mittlerweile in einem voll digitalen Umfeld.

Das vereinfacht nicht nur Verbesserungen, sondern auch die Umsetzung von Maßnahmen, die unseren ökologischen Fußabdruck schrumpfen lassen. Diese Herangehensweise teilen wir mit unseren Zulieferern und Geschäftspartnern, wodurch wir die Prioritäten für das gesamte Produktionsökosystem mitgestalten können. Unsere Ziele sind ein möglichst geringer Ressourcenverbrauch bei höchstmöglicher Miniaturisierung der mikroelektronischen Systeme für eine effiziente Datenverarbeitung und eine schnelle und stromsparende Signalleitung.

Wir haben immer die richtige Antwort

Kreative technische Ansätze und Innovation sind für AT&S seit jeher die Basis für das Wachstum und den unternehmerischen Erfolg des Unternehmens. Ein konzentrierter Fokus auf Forschung und Entwicklung erlaubt uns, gemeinsam mit unseren Kunden stets die passende Antwort auf technische Herausforderungen zu finden.

AT&S Lösungen

Institute & Industriepartner

Um in unserer Branche technologisch ganz vorne mitspielen zu können, arbeiten wir mit einigen der renommiertesten Forschungsinstitutionen der Welt zusammen, wie etwa dem Fraunhofer Institut in Deutschland, der TU Graz, Montanuniversität Leoben und den Silicon Austria Labs in Österreich, dem Indian Institute of Technology oder der Virginia Tech Universität in den USA. Durch die Kombination aus hohen Investitionen und exzellenten Forschungspartnern festigen wir unsere technologische Führungsposition und gestalten auch die kommenden Durchbrüche in der Elektronikindustrie mit.

Werde Teil des AT&S Teams

Karriere bei AT&S

Forschungsförderung: Projekte von und mit AT&S

Als innovatives Hightechunternehmen ist AT&S ein wichtiger Bestandteil der Forschungslandschaft in Österreich und Europa. Die hohe Qualität unserer Entwicklungsarbeit erlaubt uns die Teilnahme an prestigeträchtigen Förderprogrammen und wir kooperieren mit vielen international anerkannten Partnern. Mehr Informationen gibt es hier:

Optimised Operation and Design of Industrial Energy Systems

Das übergeordnete Ziel von DigitalEnergyTwin ist es, der Industrie eine Methodik und ein Softwaretool zur Verfügung zu stellen, dass genau die Optimierung des Betriebs und der Auslegung des industriellen Energiesystems unterstützt.

Durch die Anwendung der Methodik des digitalen Zwillings wird diese detaillierte Energiesystemmodellierung für ausgewählte Prozesse (energierelevant) und erneuerbare Energieversorgungstechnologien entwickelt, validiert und vereinfacht.

Mehr erfahren

Interdisziplinärer Wissenstransfer in Electronic Based Systems (EBS) zur Stärkung der Akteure der Wertschöpfungskette

Inno-EBS (Electronic Based Systems) Qualifizierungsprogramm konzentriert sich auf die Vermittlung von State-of-the-Art Querschnittkompetenzen in Hardware, embedded Software und Systemen.

Das Programm adressiert Zielgruppen aus diesen Bereichen sowie auch Generalisten im Innovationsmanagement. Im Rahmen von vier zielgruppenspezifischen Tracks wird auf die brennendsten Themen der Unternehmen in EBS eingegangen

Mehr erfahren

Challenging environments tolerant Smart systems for IoT and AI

Das Projekt CHARM arbeitet an Lösungen zur Anwendung von ECS (Electronics, Components and Systems) Technologien in harschen Industrieumgebungen. Im Rahmen des Projektes, Demonstratoranwendungen aus sechs unterschiedlichen Industriesektoren (Bergbauindustrie, Papierfabriken, Schleifindustrie, Herstellung von Solarzellen, digitale Druck sowie Erhaltung und Stilllegung von Atomkraftwerken) werden entwickelt.

CHARM wird einerseits neue Geschäftsfelder und Wertschöpfungsketten innerhalb Europas eröffnen und andererseits die Produktion in Europa fördern, indem neue Möglichkeiten zur Digitalisierung und Kontakte zur ECS Gemeinschaft, welche digitale Lösungen schafft, hergestellt werden

Mehr erfahren

Highly EFFICIENT and reliable electric drivetrains based on modular, intelligent and highly integrated wide band gap power electronics modules

Das Projekt entwickelt hochmoderne, integrierte und zuverlässige Wide Band-Gap (WBG)-Technologien wie z.B. hoch energieeffiziente und zuverlässige Leistungselektronik für elektrifizierte Fahrzeuge und Ladeinfrastruktur.

Dies wird die intelligente Mobilität vorantreiben, die erhebliche Auswirkungen auf alle Ebenen entlang der Wertschöpfungskette hat. HiEFFICIENT-Partner haben sich ehrgeizige Ziele gesetzt, eine höhere Akzeptanz sowie den maximalen Nutzen beim Einsatz von WBG-Halbleitern zu erreichen.

Mehr erfahren

Intelligent Reliability 4.0

Das Projekt „Intelligent Reliability 4.0“ (iRel4.0) verfolgt das übergeordnete Ziel, die Zuverlässigkeit von elektronischen Systemen entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette (von der Entwicklung über die Produktion zur Applikation bis zum Lebensende der Bauteile) signifikant zu verbessern.

Innovative Testmethoden und die erweiterte Implementierung von sensorbasiertem Systemcontrolling werden es ermöglichen, sowohl Risikobausteine und -Systeme zu identifizieren als auch neue Modelle der Wartung zu implementieren.

Durch elektronische Komponenten und Systeme werden Lösungen für die großen gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen der Zukunft vor allem im Bereich Mobilität (autonomes Fahren, e-mobility) und Energie-Erzeugung (Windenergie) sowie für die digitalisierte Industrie erreicht.

Mehr erfahren

Research for GaN technologies, devices, packages and applications to address the challenges of the future GaN roadmap

Das Projekt „UltimateGaN“ hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, den CO2 Fußabdruck der Digitalisierung erheblich zu verbessern. Dieses Ziel soll durch Effizienzsteigerungen mittels der zukünftigen Generationen von Galliumnitrid (GaN)-Technologien und -Gehäusen für die Elektronikindustrie in Europa adressiert werden.

Die durch UltimateGaN entstehenden GaN-Bauteile werden ein breites Spektrum innovativer und energieeffizienter Applikationen ermöglichen, mit dem weitreichenden Ziel, die Digitalisierung zu unterstützen und damit Europas führende Position im Bereich elektronischer Komponenten und Systeme zu stärken.

Mehr erfahren

D-band radio 5G network technology

Das DRAGON-Projekt wird durch die Nutzung des Funkspektrums im D-Band (130-174,8 GHz)1 die Einschränkungen aktueller drahtloser E-Band-Backhaul-Lösungen überwinden, um eine geeignete Funklösung mit kleinem Formfaktor und hoher Kapazität zu erreichen. Dies ist für einen massiven Einsatz notwendig, der es ermöglichen wird, die Geschwindigkeit optischer Systeme auf kostengünstige Weise auf Backhaul-Systeme zu übertragen. DRAGON bietet Perspektiven für neue Halbleiter-, Antennen- und Verpackungstechnologien und die daraus resultierenden Hardwaregeräte, um in den Markt einzutreten und neue wirtschaftliche Möglichkeiten zu schaffen.

Mehr erfahren

Important Project of Common European Interest on Microelectronics

Das sogenannte Important Project of Common European Interest on Microelectronics (IPCEI Mikroelektronik) stärkt die europäische Mikroelektronikindustrie in Europa mit dem Ziel, die Mikroelektroniktechnologie in der gesamten EU voranzutreiben. Das IPCEI Mikroelektronik wurde im Dezember 2018 von der Europäischen Kommission verabschiedet und läuft bis März 2024.

Das IPCEI Mikroelektronik umfasst Projekte mit Schwerpunkt auf Forschung und Entwicklung sowie der ersten industriellen Anwendung (First Industrial Deployment, FID) in folgenden fünf Technologiefeldern:

  • Energieeffiziente Chips
  • Leistungshalbleiter
  • Sensoren
  • Fortgeschrittene optische Geräte und
  • Verbundwerkstoffe.

An der IPCEI Mikroelektronik-Partnerschaft sind 32 Unternehmen sowie Forschungs- und Entwicklungseinrichtungen aus Österreich, Frankreich, Deutschland, Italien und Großbritannien beteiligt.

Nicht nur die Mitglieder des Konsortiums profitieren von IPCEI. Die im Rahmen des Projekts gewonnenen Erkenntnisse kommen Organisationen in ganz Europa zugute. Dadurch entstehen positive Spillover-Effekte entlang der gesamten Halbleiter-Wertschöpfungskette und in anderen Bereichen.

AT&S – Teil von IPCEI Mikroelektronik

AT&S überspringt im Rahmen von IPCEI Mikroelektronik bestehende Packaging-Technologien in sorgfältig ausgewählten Bereichen und konzentriert sich auf die Umsetzung der nächsten Generation der Packaging-Technologie in Österreich. Erzielt wird dies durch das Zusammenführen und Kombinieren der drei Hauptkompetenzen von AT&S:

  • High-End-Leiterplatten
  • Substratetechnologie
  • Komponentenintegration

Unsere vier Arbeitspakete:

  1. Funktionsfähige Cores für leistungseffiziente Substrate und Packages
  2. Neuartige Packaging-Konzepte für Hochgeschwindigkeits- und Hochfrequenzelektronik
  3. Miniaturisierung für neuartige Test- und Referenzboards sowie weitere Anwendungen
  4. Fortschrittliche Produktions- und Testkapazitäten

IPCEI Spillover-Aktivitäten von AT&S umfassen:

  • Kooperationen mit Industrie &Forschung
    Im Zuge von IPCEI unterstützt und stärkt AT&S Entwicklungsaktivitäten in ganz Europa entlang der Wertschöpfungskette sowie mit Universitäten und Forschungs- und Technologieeinrichtungen (RTOs). Dadurch schaffen wir positive Übertragungseffekte für Europa.
  • Ausbildung und Talente unterstützen
    AT&S wird die Einbindung von Universitäten im MINT-Bereich fördern.

Mehr erfahren

Unsere Stärke sind kreative Antworten

Kontakt

AT&S Kontakt

Wir sind für Sie da!

   

Wenn Sie mehr über unsere spannenden Produkte, Technologien und Lösungen erfahren möchten, sind unsere Expert:innen jederzeit gerne für Sie da.

E-Mail
+43 3842 200-0

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Smart Mobility: When cars talk to cars and everyone else in traffic
Blog

Zwar piepst und blinkt es im modernen Autocockpit. Dennoch herrscht zwischen den Teilnehmern im Straßenverkehr meist Informationsmangel. Ein neuer Kommunikationsstandard, C-V2X, soll die Beziehungen zwischen den Beteiligten nachhaltig verbessern.

A dense network of low earth orbiting satellites
Blog

Noch in diesem Jahrzehnt soll ein Vielfaches der rund 9000 Satelliten, die seit Sputnik 1 ins All geschossen wurde, die Erde umkreisen. Allein die Pläne von Space X, dem Raumfahrtunternehmen von Elon Musk, dem britischen OneWeb, Telesat und das Amazon-Projekt Kuiper sehen über 46.000 Satelliten in den nächsten Jahren vor.

Turning EVs from consumers to suppliers of electricity
Blog

Autobatterien werden oft als Achillesferse der Transformation vom Verbrenner- zum E-Auto abgetan: Zu schwer, zu wenig Speicher. Doch durch die Integration in die tragende Autokonstruktion sparen Autobauer Gewicht und Volumen bei erhöhter Reichweite. Und Netzbetreiber sehen die Batterien landesweiter Autoflotten als künftige Stromspeicher, um Spitzenlast in Stromnetzen bereitzustellen.